Home › Smart Bird Feeders › Birdfy Feeder 2 Duo Review
The Birdfy Feeder 2 Duo pairs a main camera with a second side camera so you see feeding birds from more than one angle. This guide summarizes three hands-on reviews, shows where their specs and prices differ, and says who the feeder suits.
By The Bird Feeder Guide Editorial Team · Specs verified October 2026 · Updated October 2026
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The Amazon link below is a search link and we show no current price because prices change.
How this guide was made: research-based from the cited expert sources, compiled with AI assistance and reviewed by the editorial team. We did not hands-on test this product.
All three reviewers who tested the Duo recommend it, with caveats. Bob Vila gave it 4.8 out of 5 after several weeks, Digital Camera World recommends it with minor caveats, and MacRumors calls it fun after five months but prefers Birdfy’s bird bath. The recurring strengths are multiple camera angles and solar power. The recurring weaknesses are price, squirrels chewing cables, and an app that MacRumors finds confusing. Prices and subscription terms differ between sources, so check both before buying.
We did not test the Duo. We compared three reviews that each claim hands-on testing: Bob Vila (November 2025), Digital Camera World (January 2026) and MacRumors (May 2026), plus Digital Camera World’s October 2026 buying guide for current ranking context. Where reviewers disagree on a spec or a price we show both and do not pick one.
| Spec | What sources state | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Cameras | Two cameras. Bob Vila: a main camera with a 3MP 2K rotating top lens and a 2MP 1080p fixed wide-angle lens, plus a side camera. Digital Camera World: 2K and 1080p front camera, 1080p side camera. MacRumors: a center camera with wide-angle and close-up portrait lenses (portrait is 2K) plus a side camera | Bob Vila, Digital Camera World, MacRumors |
| Field of view | Not stated in degrees | None |
| Power | 5W solar panel (Bob Vila, Digital Camera World, which calls it optional). Battery capacity is not stated in the reviews; Digital Camera World’s buying guide lists dual 9,000 mAh batteries and about two weeks of life | Bob Vila, Digital Camera World |
| Weather rating | IP66 (Digital Camera World review, MacRumors); the buying guide says IP65 | Digital Camera World, MacRumors |
| Size and weight | 13.3 x 12.7 x 9 in; 1.75 kg | Digital Camera World |
| AI bird identification | More than 6,000 species claimed | Digital Camera World, MacRumors |
| Warranty | Two-year product warranty | Digital Camera World |
| Mounting | Pole, tree, wall or post; no hanging loop | MacRumors |
Specs verified October 2026 against the pages listed under Sources.
All three praise the second view. MacRumors says it catches birds that cling to the feeder sides, and Digital Camera World describes a trio of views from the two cameras.
Bob Vila reports the solar panel kept it running for weeks. MacRumors says it needed a manual charge twice in a low-sun spot over five months.
Bob Vila calls the build sturdier than the original and setup easy. MacRumors says it held up through winter. Digital Camera World reports 30 to 40 minutes of setup and a first visitor in under 24 hours.
Squirrels are the most repeated complaint. Bob Vila says the feeder is not squirrel-proof and that squirrels chewed through the solar panel wire and seed guard. MacRumors says squirrels reached it on a tree strap, ate the seed and chewed through the USB-C cable, and recommends a pole with a baffle about eight feet from trees. Digital Camera World calls it bulky and heavy once loaded and notes plastic parts that may wear and a stiff lid latch. MacRumors adds that the portrait lens was not as crisp as hoped, direct sun washes out video, the app is confusingly designed, it sent more than 50 notifications a day, and AI misidentified some birds. In one test it logged 47 visits with 38 correct, 14 unknown and 2 incorrect. For squirrel protection see Best Squirrel Baffles for Bird Feeder Poles.
| Source | Date | What it states |
|---|---|---|
| Bob Vila | November 4, 2025 | Price over $400; says the Duo currently offers lifetime free AI access |
| Digital Camera World review | January 20, 2026 | Retailer prices of $239.99, $259.99 and $299.99; app free to download; subscription details not stated |
| MacRumors | May 21, 2026 | $360. Free plan: free AI, 5GB storage, 20-second clips kept for a month. Plus plan $6.99 a month: 60-day retention, 30-second clips, 20GB. No local storage option |
| Digital Camera World buying guide | Updated October 9, 2026 | $239.99 sale price against $299.99 in an undated deals block; 30 days of free rolling cloud; AI is a paid add-on at $4.99 a month, $49 a year or $69.99 one time |
These figures cannot all be right at once, so we list no current price. Confirm the live price and the AI plan before you buy.
Who it is for: keen backyard birders who want more than one view and will use a pole mount with a baffle. Bob Vila recommends it for serious birders and gift buyers, and Digital Camera World recommends it for keen wildlife watchers who can justify the cost.
Who should skip it: people who do not need an elaborate multi-camera setup (Digital Camera World), buyers who dislike app-heavy products (MacRumors) and anyone hoping to mount it on a tree without squirrel protection. For other camera feeders see Best Smart Bird Feeders with Cameras and the Birdfy 2 Pro Solar Review.
None of the reviews gives a field of view in degrees, a battery capacity in the review text, or a controlled comparison against rival feeders. MacRumors says Birdfy provided the units and that no other compensation was received. Digital Camera World says its unit was sent to the reviewer. Bob Vila’s review is almost a year old and the camera layout is described differently by each outlet, so check the maker’s current product page for the exact lens setup. Prices, plan terms and firmware change over time.
Two cameras: a main camera and a side camera. Reviewers describe the lenses differently, with MacRumors counting three lenses between them.
Sources differ. MacRumors describes a free plan with free AI and a $6.99 a month Plus plan, Bob Vila says lifetime free AI access is currently included, and Digital Camera World’s buying guide lists AI as a paid add-on.
No. Bob Vila says it is not squirrel-proof at all and MacRumors reports squirrels chewing the USB-C cable.
Digital Camera World and MacRumors give an IP66 rating, while Digital Camera World’s buying guide says IP65. Bob Vila says it survived several rainy days.
Specs verified October 2026. This guide is research-based from the sources below, compiled with AI assistance and reviewed by the editorial team, with no hands-on testing.
Bob Vila, Birdfy Feeder 2 Duo Review (November 4, 2025)
Digital Camera World, Birdfy Feeder 2 Duo review (January 20, 2026)
MacRumors, Birdfy smart bird feeders and bird bath review (May 21, 2026)
Digital Camera World, The best bird feeder cameras (updated October 9, 2026)
We use cookies to improve your experience on our site. By using our site, you consent to cookies.
Manage your cookie preferences below:
Essential cookies enable basic functions and are necessary for the proper function of the website.
These cookies are needed for adding comments on this website.
Statistics cookies collect information anonymously. This information helps us understand how visitors use our website.
Clarity is a web analytics service that tracks and reports website traffic.
Service URL: clarity.microsoft.com (opens in a new window)
Google Analytics is a powerful tool that tracks and analyzes website traffic for informed marketing decisions.
Service URL: policies.google.com (opens in a new window)
You can find more information in our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy.