Independent, research-based buying guides for backyard birders · Reader-supported · Affiliate Disclosure · How We Research

Home › Birding Gear › Best Bird ID Apps

Best Bird ID Apps (Free and Paid)

Whether a bird is at your feeder or on a trail, a phone can help name it. This guide compares the bird identification apps that Audubon magazine, Live Science, Martha Stewart Living and the apps' own pages describe, shows what each one does, and says plainly where the sources do not give an answer.

By The Bird Feeder Guide Editorial Team · Specs verified October 2026 · Updated October 2026

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The only Amazon links here are search links for books and binoculars, and we show no prices because they change.

How this guide was made: research-based from the cited expert sources, compiled with AI assistance and reviewed by the editorial team. We did not hands-on test any app.

Quick answer

Start with Merlin Bird ID. It is free, recommended by every independent source we read, and identifies by sound, photo or questions. Add the free Audubon Bird Guide if you want a browsable North American field guide, iNaturalist if you want community-confirmed IDs for any wildlife, and BirdNET if you only want sound ID. Paid options such as Sibley Birds (about $20 per Audubon and Martha Stewart Living) are for people who want deeper reference content.

How we picked, and what each app does

We did not test any app. We read three independent roundups (Audubon magazine, updated January 2024; Live Science, August 2025; Martha Stewart Living, January 2024) plus the official Merlin, Audubon and iNaturalist pages, and list a fact only when a page states it. Anything marked Not stated was not given by the sources. If you are still setting up your yard, see how to attract birds to your yard.

Bird ID apps compared

AppCost (as sources list it)How it identifiesOffline useCoverage
Merlin Bird IDFreeSound, photo, or questionsSound ID and Photo ID work offline with a downloaded Bird Pack (Merlin's page)US, Canada, Europe, parts of Central and South America, India (Merlin's page and Live Science); Audubon magazine says worldwide with 10,000+ species
iNaturalistFree, nonprofitPhoto suggestion, confirmed by communityNot statedAll organisms, not only birds
Audubon Bird GuideFreeBrowsing and description-based; not a photo-ID app (Live Science)Not stated800+ North American species
BirdNETFreeSound onlyNot stated3,000+ species, worldwide (Live Science)
Sibley BirdsAbout $20 (Audubon: $19.99, January 2024 update; Martha Stewart Living: $20, undated)Reference guide; ID method Not statedNot stated930+ species, 2,800+ recordings (Audubon)
Picture BirdFree with in-app purchases (Live Science)Sound and imageNot stated1,000+ species, worldwide
Smart Bird IDFree with in-app purchases (Live Science)Sound, image, videoYes (Live Science)1,000+ species, USA and Canada
eBirdFreeLogs sightings; not an ID toolNot statedWorldwide

Prices are as printed by the sources on the dates shown and may have changed. Chirp! is listed at $3.99 on iOS only by Audubon magazine and as free on iOS/Android by Martha Stewart Living, so we do not state its price.

Who it is for and who should skip it

Merlin Bird ID

Free, widely recommended, and the only app whose own page says sound and photo ID work offline. BirdWatching magazine's 2020 test found it correct on 4 of 5 test photos (it misidentified an ivory gull), which is an old result.

Who it is for: beginners and anyone who wants quick sound or photo ID. Who should skip it: people who want deep range and reference detail (our inference).

iNaturalist

Suggests an ID from a photo, then the community confirms or refines it, and covers plants, animals and fungi.

Who it is for: people who want confirmed IDs across all wildlife. Who should skip it: anyone who only wants a fast bird answer.

Audubon Bird Guide

Audubon's own page calls it a free, complete field guide with 800+ North American species, 3,000+ photos, range maps and audio.

Who it is for: North American birders who like browsing a guide. Who should skip it: anyone who wants photo or sound ID, which Live Science says it does not offer.

Sibley Birds (paid)

Listed at about $20 by two sources. Audubon says it holds 930+ species and 2,800+ recordings. Its printed counterpart is a common reference book.

Who it is for: people who want an illustrated reference in their pocket. Who should skip it: anyone happy with the free apps.

Search Sibley bird guide books on Amazon

BirdNET, Picture Bird and Smart Bird ID

BirdNET is a free sound-only research app. Picture Bird and Smart Bird ID are free to download with in-app purchases that Live Science lists as $2.99 to $29.99 per item. These facts each rest on one source.

Who it is for: people curious to try a second opinion. Who should skip it: anyone who does not want in-app purchases.

Pairing an app with binoculars

Live Science also discusses binoculars for birders, with affiliate links and undated prices that we do not repeat. An app helps with naming, but it does not replace good optics for seeing field marks.

Who it is for: birders heading out of the yard. Who should skip it: feeder-only watchers.

Search 10x42 birding binoculars on Amazon

Where the sources disagree

Merlin's coverage is described three ways: worldwide with 10,000+ species (Audubon magazine) versus a specific list of regions (Live Science and Merlin's own page). We use the narrower list. Chirp! differs on price and platform between Audubon magazine and Martha Stewart Living. Offline use is rarely stated at all: only Merlin and Smart Bird ID are confirmed. If you also use a smart feeder that names visitors for you, see our smart bird feeder guide and whether a smart bird feeder is worth it.

Limits and what the sources do not say

Only the Live Science roundup is clearly from 2025; the Audubon and Martha Stewart Living pieces were updated or published in 2024, and a 2020 Birdwatching magazine test is used only as background. We could not read roundups from Cornell Lab, Wirecutter or Popular Science. Official pages for Sibley, Picture Bird and BirdNET were not read, so their facts rest on the roundups. We did not test any app, and accuracy claims are the sources' own.

Questions about bird ID apps

What is the best free bird identification app?

Merlin Bird ID is free and is the app named most often in the sources we read (Audubon magazine, Live Science and Martha Stewart Living). It identifies birds from sound, photos or a few questions.

Can a bird ID app work without a signal?

Cornell Lab's Merlin page says Sound ID and Photo ID work completely offline once you download a regional Bird Pack. Live Science says Smart Bird ID works offline. For the other apps, the sources do not say.

Are paid bird apps worth it?

The sources list Sibley Birds at about $20 and The Warbler Guide at $12.99 as paid options, alongside subscription and in-app purchase apps. Free apps such as Merlin and the Audubon Bird Guide are also recommended, so paying is a choice for extra reference depth, not a requirement.

Can an app identify a bird from a photo?

Merlin offers Photo ID, and iNaturalist suggests an ID from a photo that the community then confirms. Live Science describes the Audubon Bird Guide as description-based, not photo-based.

Related guides

Attract Birds to Your Yard

Complete guide →

Is a Smart Feeder Worth It?

What expert reviews say →

Best Bird Feeders

Our overall picks →

Sources and method

Specs verified October 2026. This guide is research-based from the sources below, compiled with AI assistance and reviewed by the editorial team, with no hands-on testing.

Audubon magazine, The Best Apps for Birding and Field Identification (updated January 20, 2024)

Live Science, Best Bird Identification Apps (August 7, 2025)

Martha Stewart Living via AOL, The 8 Best Apps and Tools for Identifying Birds (January 6, 2024)

BirdWatching magazine, Best field guide and listing apps for birders (November/December 2020 issue, background only)

Cornell Lab, Merlin Bird ID (official page, undated)

Audubon, Bird Guide app (official page, updated November 2025)

iNaturalist (official page, undated)