Home › Smart Bird Feeders › Bird Buddy Pro vs Bird Buddy 2
Bird Buddy now sells two generations of its camera feeder: the Birdbuddy Pro (and its Pro Solar version) and the newer Birdbuddy 2, which the company showed at CES in January 2026. Bird Buddy's own support site publishes a Pro-versus-2 comparison, and independent reviewers have now written about both. This guide lines the two up, flags where sources disagree, and says who gains from the newer model. It does not repeat our other guides: for the subscription see Bird Buddy free vs Premium, and for the Birdfy matchup see Pro Solar vs Birdfy 2 Pro Solar.
A naming warning: Bird Buddy also sells a paid membership called Premium (reviewers sometimes say 'Bird Buddy Pro' for the subscription). Here, 'Pro' means the Birdbuddy Pro feeder.
By The Bird Feeder Guide Editorial Team · Specs verified October 2026 · Updated October 2026
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases; this comparison is compiled from published reviews and manufacturer pages, not hands-on testing, and we do not quote prices.
How this guide was made: research-based from the cited expert sources, compiled with AI assistance and reviewed by the editorial team. We did not hands-on test any product.
Short answer: If you already own a Birdbuddy Pro, the published evidence for upgrading is thin. Bird Buddy's own comparison lists a slightly larger field of view (135 vs 122 degrees), a larger seed capacity (6 cups vs 3.8), and much faster camera pairing (10 seconds vs 5 minutes) for the 2. TechRadar (1 October 2026) adds dual-band Wi-Fi and a rotatable camera. If you are buying new and want a feeder that works on 5 GHz Wi-Fi or lets you film in landscape, the 2 is the stronger fit. If you want a proven model, the Pro has the longer review history. One caution: Techwalla (28 September 2026) reported that the 2's 2K and slow-motion modes were greyed out in a May test, so check the current state of those modes before paying for the feature.
We read Bird Buddy's official Pro-vs-2 comparison page, its Birdbuddy 2 specifications page, and the Birdbuddy 2 and Pro Solar product pages (none of which show a date). We then read independent coverage: TechRadar's six-month Bird Buddy 2 review (1 October 2026), Techwalla's Bird Buddy 2 review (28 September 2026), TechRadar's Bird Buddy Pro review (18 April 2025), Digital Camera World's Bird Buddy Pro Solar hummingbird review (4 June 2026), and TechCrunch's CES launch report (6 January 2026). We did not test either feeder. Where sources give different numbers, we say so and label the source. Unknown specs read 'Not stated'.
To avoid repeating earlier guides, we focus only on what changes between Pro and 2. For wider context see our Bird Buddy 2 review roundup, are smart bird feeders worth it, best smart bird feeders with cameras, bird feeder cameras with no subscription and the Birdfy Feeder 2 Duo review.
| Spec | Birdbuddy Pro | Birdbuddy 2 |
|---|---|---|
| Sensor size | 1/2.7 in [Official comparison] | 1/2.8 in [Official comparison]; a later section of the specs page says 1/2.9 in |
| Field of view | 122 degrees [Official comparison] | 135 degrees [Official comparison] |
| Focus range | 2.6 to 5.9 in [Official comparison] | 2.6 to 5.9 in [Official comparison] |
| Photos | 5 MP, HDR [TechRadar 2025] | 5 MP, HDR [Official specs page] |
| Video | Up to 2K at 30 fps; 2K Ultra needs Premium [TechRadar 2025; official Pro page] | Official specs page: Full HD, HDR. TechRadar 2026 and TechCrunch: 2K (2K Ultra needs Premium per TechRadar). Techwalla: 2K greyed out in a May test |
| Slow motion | Up to 120 fps per the official Pro page FAQ [Official; TechRadar 2025: 960p at 120 fps] | Official specs page: 95 fps; TechRadar 2026: up to 120 fps at 960p; Techwalla: 960p/90 fps greyed out in a May test |
| Camera orientation | Vertical only [TechRadar 2026; Digital Camera World] | Landscape and portrait [Official specs page; TechRadar 2026] |
| Wi-Fi | 2.4 GHz only [Official Pro page] | 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz [Official specs page; TechRadar 2026] |
| Camera pairing time | 5 min [Official comparison] | 10 s [Official comparison] |
| Battery | 3800 mAh Li-ion [Official Pro page] | 3900 mAh Li-ion [Official specs page] |
| Solar | Detachable solar roof included on Pro Solar; optional accessory on Pro [Official Pro Solar page; TechRadar 2025] | Integrated solar roof with dual panels [Official Birdbuddy 2 page]; roof and camera are wired together [TechRadar 2026] |
| Seed capacity | 3.8 cups / 0.9 L [Official comparison and Pro page] | 6 cups / 1.4 L [Official comparison and product page] |
| Weight (empty) | 600 g [Official Pro page] | 600 g [Official Birdbuddy 2 page] |
| Weather rating | IP67 [Official Pro page] | IP67 [Official specs page] |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth (version Not stated) [Official Pro page] | BLE 5.1 on the specs page; Bluetooth 4.2 on the product page |
| Storage | Online only [TechRadar 2025] | Online only [TechRadar 2026] |
| Subscription | Free app plus paid Premium [Official Pro page; TechRadar 2025] | Core app free; Premium adds longer clips, 2K Ultra and more [TechRadar 2026] |
| Price | Check current price on Amazon | Check current price on Amazon |
Official support-site pages and product pages carry no date. Several rows differ between Bird Buddy's own pages, so treat the video, slow-motion and Bluetooth figures as 'check before you buy'. The comparison page marks some features (instant wake-up, live stream without delay, solar panel) with icons only, so we do not list them as differences.
The Pro is the earlier model. Per TechRadar's review (18 April 2025), it has a 1/2.7 in sensor, 5 MP HDR photos, up to 2K video, a 122 degree field of view and online-only storage; the reviewer praised the design and app but noted possible notification delays and that vertical video suits phones better than large screens. Digital Camera World (4 June 2026), reviewing the hummingbird version, liked the easy cleaning and long battery life but noted missed brief visitors and vertical-only video. The Pro works on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only.
Who it is for: buyers who want the model with the longer review record, who mostly watch on a phone, and whose Wi-Fi reaches the feeder on 2.4 GHz. Who should skip it: anyone who needs 5 GHz Wi-Fi, a landscape view, or a bigger seed reservoir.
Bird Buddy's comparison lists a wider 135 degree view, a 1/2.8 in sensor, 6 cup seed capacity and 10 second camera pairing. TechRadar (1 October 2026) called it the most polished and hassle-free design its reviewer had tried, praised the portrait/landscape choice and said the battery stayed at 100 percent over six months, but noted it does not capture every visitor and has a premium price. Techwalla (28 September 2026) liked the build and free AI identification but found the 2K and slow-motion modes greyed out in a May test, plus a failed firmware update for one tester and slow live view.
Who it is for: new buyers who want dual-band Wi-Fi, landscape video and a larger reservoir. Who should skip it: buyers whose main reason to pay is guaranteed 2K or slow-motion video, until current firmware behavior is confirmed.
You own a Pro and it works: the listed gains are a wider view, bigger reservoir, landscape option and 5 GHz Wi-Fi. Upgrade only if one of those fixes a problem you actually have, such as weak 2.4 GHz coverage. Who it is for: Pro owners with Wi-Fi or framing complaints. Who should skip it: owners happy with their footage.
You are buying your first Bird Buddy: the 2 is the current-generation feeder; compare current listings and read the subscription guide first, since Premium unlocks 2K Ultra and other features. Who it is for: first-time buyers. Who should skip it: budget buyers who find a Pro on sale and do not need the extras.
Bird Buddy's own pages conflict with each other and with reviewers on video: the Birdbuddy 2 specs page says Full HD, while TechCrunch (6 January 2026) and TechRadar describe 2K, and Techwalla found 2K greyed out in May. Slow motion is given as 95 fps on the specs page and up to 120 fps by TechRadar. Sensor size (1/2.8 vs 1/2.9 in) and Bluetooth version (5.1 vs 4.2) also vary between official pages. Price is murky too: TechCrunch reported a launch price at CES, while TechRadar and Techwalla saw a higher Amazon listing. We quote none; check the current price on Amazon.
We did not test either feeder. The Pro reviews are older (April 2025 and June 2026 for a hummingbird variant) than the Birdbuddy 2 reviews (late September and October 2026). Reviewers used different versions and firmware, and the Techwalla remark about greyed-out modes is a May test, not a recheck. Bird Buddy's comparison page does not state a date, and it does not describe how the 2 differs from the Pro beyond its table. Features marked only by icons are not compared here.
On Bird Buddy's own comparison it has a wider field of view (135 vs 122 degrees), larger seed capacity (6 cups vs 3.8) and faster camera pairing (10 seconds vs 5 minutes). Reviewers also cite dual-band Wi-Fi and a landscape option. Whether that is 'better' depends on your Wi-Fi and how you watch.
Yes, per Bird Buddy's specs page (2.4 GHz and 5 GHz) and TechRadar (1 October 2026). Bird Buddy's Pro page says the Pro needs 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.
Neither needs one to work, according to the sources we read, but paid Premium adds features such as 2K Ultra video. See our free vs Premium guide for detail.
The Birdbuddy 2 is listed with an integrated solar roof. For the Pro, a detachable solar roof is included on the Pro Solar listing and is an optional accessory on the base Pro per TechRadar (April 2025).
Specs verified October 2026. This guide is research-based from the sources below, compiled with AI assistance and reviewed by the editorial team, with no hands-on testing.
Bird Buddy support: Birdbuddy Pro vs Birdbuddy 2 comparison (undated)
Bird Buddy support: Birdbuddy 2 specifications (undated)
Bird Buddy: Birdbuddy 2 product page (undated)
Bird Buddy: Birdbuddy Pro Solar product page (undated)
TechRadar: Bird Buddy 2 six-month review (1 October 2026)
Techwalla: Bird Buddy 2 review (28 September 2026)
TechRadar: Bird Buddy Smart Bird Feeder Pro review (18 April 2025)
Digital Camera World: Bird Buddy Pro Solar Hummingbird Feeder review (4 June 2026)
TechCrunch: Birdbuddy launches new smart bird feeders (6 January 2026)
We use cookies to improve your experience on our site. By using our site, you consent to cookies.
Manage your cookie preferences below:
Essential cookies enable basic functions and are necessary for the proper function of the website.
These cookies are needed for adding comments on this website.
Statistics cookies collect information anonymously. This information helps us understand how visitors use our website.
Clarity is a web analytics service that tracks and reports website traffic.
Service URL: clarity.microsoft.com (opens in a new window)
Google Analytics is a powerful tool that tracks and analyzes website traffic for informed marketing decisions.
Service URL: policies.google.com (opens in a new window)
You can find more information in our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy.